Kentucky Derby Preakness Stakes Belmont Stakes

Triple Crown Winners

Winning the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Horse Racing is one of the rarest accomplishments in sports.  It takes the right horse, the right jockey, and a little bit of luck to be one of the Triple Crown winners.

Only 11 times has a horse won the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing. The current winless drought is the longest in the history of this award.

Here is the list of Triple Crown winners…

Year Horse Name Jockey Trainer
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande Jim Fitzsimmons
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders Jim Fitzsimmons
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George H. Conway
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden Don Cameron
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Horace A. Jones
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William H. Turner, Jr.
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera